2016 Miami Open Update:

The South Florida Sting Rays were a force to be reckoned with as they earned a first place finish in the qualification round of this year’s Miami Open Baseball Tournament, winning two and tying one. The Rays earned the home team designation in the finals against the Orlando Bombers, which earned the other spot in the finals by going 2-1 in the qualification round. The defending champions, Orlando Madness, finished a disappointing 1-1-1, while the Miami Red Sox finished 0-3. The Miami Open Finals takes place Monday May 30 at McArthur High, Hollywood FL at 10am. Let the big dog eat!

South Florida Baseball League presents the 19th Annual Miami Open Tournament.  The tournament is open to any and all teams in the region regardless of affiliation and takes place in Miami, Florida on Memorial Day weekend, May 28 – 30, 2016. The tournament features some of the best competition in Florida with teams coming from various leagues including the South Florida Baseball League, the Orlando – Central Florida Baseball League, the Federal League and the Liga Nica.

The winner-take-all tournament is highlighted by a championship trophy, championship tshirts and a spot in the record books.. The registration fee is $850 per team, regardless of player count. The deadline for team registration is Saturday, May 21, 2016.  All interested teams and players are urged to contact the tournament director immediately. Individual players will be assigned to the League team – Miami Red Sox.

Tournament Schedule

Saturday 9am McArthur High – Hollywood Orlando Bombers Souh Florida Sting Rays
Saturday 9am Sunset Park – Plantation Miami Red Sox Orlando Madness
Saturday 1:30pm McArthur High – Hollywood Souh Florida Sting Rays Miami Red Sox
Saturday 1:30pm Sunset Park – Plantation Orlando Madness Orlando Bombers
Sunday 9am McArthur High – Hollywood Souh Florida Sting Rays Orlando Madness
Sunday 9am Flamingo Park – Miami Beach Miami Red Sox Orlando Bombers
Sunday 130pm Flamingo Park – Miami Beach Miami Open Championship


Tournament Format

The tournament will be using an open division WOOD BAT format (18+). Teams will be seeded by the tournament director based on past experience, team history and other objective and subjective factors. All teams are guaranteed a minimum of three games in the qualification round played against teams within their respective division. Two games are played on Saturday, May 28 with the third game played on Sunday morning, May 29.

The top two teams with the most points after the three game qualification round will advance to the championship game Sunday afternoon. Points System: Win = 2 points, Tie = 1 point. Tie games are permitted. Tie breaker rules will be used to determine playoff teams. In case of rain, games will be suspended and completed later.

Tiebreaker 1: head-to-head result

Tiebreaker 2: runs allowed

Tiebreaker 3:  runs scored

Final Tiebreaker: coin flip

Below: Orlando Madness 2015 Miami Open Champions